Effaclar Duo

SO, usually when I receive a beauty sample, I’m pretty swift to review it and post my comments. But this particular product left me a bit meh, for quite a while, so much so that I held off, gave it a bit more time, used it a bit more.

unnamed-2

Eventually, my mind was made up for me, by what some people call a blemish – in my case, a boil. A big, fat boil, resplendent on my left cheek, red-hot and angry. Lovely.

I’ve long suffered from bad skin. Not appallingly bad but in constant need of gentle, loving care. Its natural state is bumpy, so I have to be constantly on my guard and armed with effective skincare heroes.

The product in question here is La Roche Posay’s Effaclar Duo [+]. It is a moisturiser. However, it calls itself  “a revolution in blemish-prone skincare management”. The formula, they say, “not only targets blemishes, clogged pores and excess sebum; it also eliminates acne marks from the moment they start to form”. I found all this quite confusing in the beginning (sorry, what exactly is it?) but, rest assured, it is a moisturiser, and can be used on its own as such or in combination with your own, regular moisturiser.

Anyway, La Roche-Posay are so confident about this product that they are offering a money-back guarantee. Cocky, eh? Must be good…

The results of the clinical trials indicate that significant improvements are visible after just eight days. Personally, however, I was bitterly disappointed when, after 10 days of use, I saw no such changes. Not only that but Effaclar Duo [+] doesn’t even feel particularly great on the skin – there’s no obvious thirst-quenching going on, no delicious scent, nothing special.  It’s just a plain ole white cream, with a matte finish. (Don’t stop here though, keep reading!).

unnamed

Still, I felt bad giving up so easily and persisted in my trial. Then I got a humdinger of a spot. With no other option available to me, I carried on with the Effaclar. Within three days, the spot and its mark were gone. Gone. And this from a girl whose spots last a week but whose scars last, well, forever.

That was a genuine turning-point for me. The worst part of spots, for me, is the marks that are left, for weeks and sometimes months, afterwards. They add up, you know, and over time you start to realise the impossibility of ever having clear skin. I made the mistake of expecting too much from a product but, having said that, it did deliver in the end. Now, when all hell breaks loose under my dermis, I know I can rely on it to alleviate the problems. It is also, as I see it, the only chance I have of treating and maybe even reducing those marks and scars.

So I’m still using my Effaclar Duo [+] daily – twice daily, in fact – and I remain happy with the results. In fact, I’m finally starting to see real evidence of the big promises – my skin texture is looking a lot more refined and the oily spots seem to have regulated somewhat.

This relationship certainly didn’t get off to the best start but, you know what, sometimes those affairs are the best. I had no faith in this product but it worked hard and proved me wrong and, by sticking with it, I’ve seen improvements in my skin. I have big respect for Effaclar Duo [+], despite its annoying-to-type name.

I’ll even go so far as to say, ‘try it’. Because, hey, worst-case scenario, you’ll get your money back!

La Roche Posay’s Effaclar Duo [+] is available from pharmacies nationwide, price €17.50.

Edie x

Leave a Reply

