It works…

…Well, it said it would.

As an advertising graduate, I love nothing more than a good ad and I have a special place in my heart for that classic Ronseal copy line – “It does exactly what it says on the tin”. I was always going to look twice, then, when a British beauty brand called This Works arrived on the scene.

This Works tells you all you want to know as you browse the hundreds – make that thousands – of beauty products on various shelves. These potions offer something for everyone, which is great, but I always have to wonder ‘which one will actually work for me?’. So when this appears before me…

ThisWorks

…it’s like someone has read my mind.

You see, I’m not really a makeup fan. Don’t get me wrong, I wish I was but I’m the unfortunate owner of a face that looks like a horse in drag when exposed to too much cosmetic flashiness. So, instead, I focus on trying to achieve good skin, an essential when you’re robbed of the opportunity to distract with glitter and sequins.

But good skin, as I’ve come to realise over the (ahem) decades, is easier said than done. There are all sorts of factors that can contribute to breakouts (sleep, diet, hormones, genetics, even water as I discovered recently) and it takes a really solid, consistent skincare routine to stay on top of the dreaded blemishes. Because of this, I don’t like to mess about too much with the basics. As I’ve mentioned before, I trust the French brands Vichy and La Roche Posay when it comes to cleansing, toning and moisturising. But a girl needs a little treat every now and then and, for me, that’s a mask or a treatment or something a bit special that will put a glow on my face.

So back to the aptly named This Works…No Wrinkles Time Dose Mask – my new wonder product!

this_works_No_Wrinkles_Time_Dose_Mask_75ml_1390913812

I absolutely love this product. It’s multifunctional, acting as a luxurious indulgence and as a quick fix. Usually with a mask, they can only be used once or twice a week, and strictly according to the instructions. But this baby has three different options, meaning that you can use it more often and however suits you best at the time; basically, you choose your own ‘time dose’. Let me explain…

If you’re short on time and need results fast, you can apply the mask evenly onto clean skin for just 10 minutes. After rinsing it off, you’ll find skin is nicely hydrated, with that great clean, plump look.

If you’re feeling a bit more in the mood, you can lash it on and leave it for 20 minutes. In this longer space of time, the natural fruit acids work away to exfoliate and resurface the skin, leaving it smoother and softer.

But if you’re like me – lazy – you’ll most likely opt for the overnight option, whereby you massage it evenly into clean skin and then, well, forget about it. This tactical approach delivers all of the above benefits plus a more even, refined skin tone. I’ve been using this for about two weeks now and I’m really impressed with the results; when the mask is on (all night long!) it actually feels like a bra for the face, keeping everything in its rightful, youthful place! I wouldn’t recommend doing the overnight treatment more than once a week, but you can supplement it with the other, shorter ‘doses’ throughout the week.

And because ‘This Works’, you’ll find it harder and harder to go a night without a dose of No Wrinkles. As beauty ‘treats’ go, this is definitely one I’ll be incorporating into my skincare routine.

This Works No Wrinkles Time Dose mask costs €46, click here for details of stockists.

Edie xx

Leave a Reply

